Pro12 semi-final team news: Munster v Ospreys (Sat)


Alun Wyn Jones has not played since March 2017 after injuring a shoulder playing for Wales
Pro12 play-offs: Munster v Ospreys
Date: Saturday, 20 May Venue: Thomond Park, Limerick Kick-off: 18:15 BST
Coverage: Live on S4C and BBC Radio Wales AM, BBC Sport website and BBC Sport app.

Wales captain Alun Wyn Jones returns from injury to start for Ospreys in Saturday’s Pro12 semi-final at Munster.

The Lions lock, 31, has not played since injuring his shoulder in Wales’ Six Nations loss to France in March.

Wales and Lions fly-half Dan Biggar was also a doubt with an ankle injury but partners Rhys Webb at half-back.

Munster have named a strong team with British & Irish Lions trio Conor Murray, CJ Stander and Peter O’Mahony all included.

Billy Holland, Keith Earls and Andrew Conway are the only players to retain places from the under-strength side which hammered Connacht two weeks ago.

O’Mahony returns as captain, with Tommy O’Donnell and Stander completing the back-row.

Lock Donnacha Ryan and centre Francis Saili are set to line out in the red jersey at Thomond Park for the final time.

Lock Ryan, 33, will join French club Racing 92 in the summer after the Irish Rugby Football Union decided not to offer him a new international contract for next season.

Munster confirmed on Friday that Saili is leaving the club at the end of this season but fly-half Ian Keatley and centre Jaco Taute have both signed two-year contract extensions.

Saili and Rory Scannell return to the midfield, and Simon Zebo rejoins the back three at full-back with Conway reverting to the wing and Earls on the opposite flank.


Munster: Simon Zebo; Andrew Conway, Francis Saili, Rory Scannell, Keith Earls; Tyler Bleyendaal, Conor Murray; Dave Kilcoyne, Niall Scannell, John Ryan, Donnacha Ryan, Billy Holland, Peter O’Mahony (capt), Tommy O’Donnell, CJ Stander.

Replacements: Rhys Marshall, James Cronin, Stephen Archer, Jean Deysel, Jack O’Donoghue, Duncan Williams, Ian Keatley, Jaco Taute.

Ospreys: Dan Evans; Keelan Giles, Kieron Fonotia, Ashley Beck, Tom Habberfield; Dan Biggar, Rhys Webb; Nicky Smith, Scott Baldwin, Rhodri Jones, Bradley Davies, Alun Wyn Jones (capt), Sam Underhill, Justin Tipuric, James King.

Replacements: Scott Otten, Paul James, Dan Suter, Lloyd Ashley, Olly Cracknell, Brendon Leornard, Sam Davies, Josh Matavesi.

Referee: Luke Pearce (RFU)

Assistant referees: Matthew O’Grady (RFU), Wayne Falla (RFU)

TMO: Graham Hughes (RFU)

Source link