European Rugby Challenge Cup: Ospreys v Worcester Warriors


Luke Price made his Ospreys debut in January 2014
European Rugby Challenge Cup
Venue: Liberty Stadium, Swansea Date: Saturday, 12 January Kick-off: 15:00 GMT
Coverage: Commentary on BBC Radio Wales, BBC Hereford & Worcester, and on the BBC Sport website

Ospreys rest Wales captain Alun Wyn Jones but still field nine Wales caps in their starting 15 against European Rugby Challenge Cup group leaders Worcester.

Fly-half Luke Price makes his first start since breaking his leg in August, among six home changes.

Worcester’s England pair Ben Te’o and Ted Hill are the two starting survivors from the Premiership win over Bath.

Fly-half Ryan Mills leads the visitors at the Liberty Stadium.

Warriors won the first encounter between the sides 27-21 at Sixways, and lead Pool One with 13 points, two ahead of the Ospreys.

Wing Keelan Giles comes into the Ospreys three-quarter line alongside Wales squad contenders George North, Scott Williams and Cory Allen, who has scored four tries in the competition.

Gareth Thomas, Alex Jeffries, Lloyd Ashley and James King start in an injury-hit front five.

Worcester ring the changes as they concentrate on Premiership survival, with USA hooker Joe Taufete’e making his first club start since September, after suffering concussion on international duty.

Seven players are promoted from the bench, while hooker Niall Annett returns from injury among the replacements and Oxford University prop Joe Morris could make a debut.

Wales wing Josh Adams is still missing after a hamstring injury ruled him out of the last two league games.

Ospreys: D Evans; North, C Allen, S Williams, Giles; Price, A Davies; G Thomas, Baldwin, Jeffries, Ashley, King, O Cracknell, Tipuric (capt), Cross.

Replacements: Otten, R Jenkins, Gajion, Griffiths, McCusker, Habberfield, S Davies, Watkin.

Worcester Warriors: Van Breda; Howe, Lawrence, Te’o, Hammond; Mills (capt), Arr; Waller, Taufete’e, Kerrod, Berry, Phillips, Hill, Mama, Cox.

Replacements: Annett, Cosgrove, Morris, Mitchener, Kirwan, Heaney, Butler, David.

Referee: Alexandre Ruiz (France)

Assistant referees: Laurent Cordona, Luc Ramos (France)

For the latest rugby union news follow @bbcrugbyunion