England: Three Lions stars fail to break into Uefa fans' side


Harry Kane won the Golden Boot at the World Cup in 2018 and scored the goal that confirmed England’s place in the semi-final of the Nations League

England failed to have a single player named in the Uefa.com Fans’ Team of the Year 2018 – despite reaching the World Cup semi-final.

While three Premier League players were selected, England captain Harry Kane, the Golden Boot winner in Russia, was omitted.

Liverpool’s Virgil van Dijk and Chelsea duo N’Golo Kante and Eden Hazard were picked in a XI full of familiar faces.

Cristiano Ronaldo was one of those, included for a record 13th time.

The Portugal forward, now with Juventus, helped his former club Real Madrid to a third consecutive Champions League title in Kiev in May.

Ronaldo’s former Madrid team-mate Luka Modric, who also starred as Croatia reached the FIFA World Cup final, received the most votes of any player in the team with 115,440.

Barcelona star Lionel Messi makes his tenth appearance in the XI, while Paris St-Germain forward Kylian Mbappe is one of five newcomers alongside Marc-Andre ter Stegen, Van Dijk, Raphael Varane, and Kante.

The side, which contains five players from Real Madrid, was based on almost two million votes registered by Uefa.

Uefa.com XI:

  1. Marc-Andre ter Stegen (FC Barcelona & Germany)
  2. Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid CF & Spain)
  3. Virgil van Dijk (Liverpool FC & Netherlands)
  4. Raphael Varane (Real Madrid CF & France)
  5. Marcelo (Real Madrid CF & Brazil)
  6. N’Golo Kante (Chelsea FC & France)
  7. Luka Modric (Real Madrid CF & Croatia)
  8. Eden Hazard (Chelsea FC & Belgium)
  9. Kylian Mbappe (Paris Saint-Germain & France)
  10. Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid CF/Juventus & Portugal)
  11. Lionel Messi (FC Barcelona & Argentina)

Source link